Aside

A Lesson in Refashioning

23 Oct

Maybe this post is more about bravery.  We’ll see.

I am a weird size.  I’m pretty thin (not like 00 thin, but you know), but I’m also tall.  As in shirt sleeves and torso lengths very rarely reach the lengths they should on me.  And dresses meant to hit the knee sit a few inches above it.  So after a while, when I realized I couldn’t live on mere hand-me-downs from other tall sisters, I decided to explore refashioning.  I’ve done a few refashions before that I think I featured on here (I made like 3 or 4 skirts).  Anyway, a while ago I was at DI poking around, and I noticed a white linen skirt that was hideous and stained from the knees down.  There was also a large weird-looking 70s-print shirt.  I kind of loved the idea of a white (it’s actually more cream I guess) linen skirt, and for some reason I was drawn to that shirt.

Image

A closer look at the pattern: potentially freaky, potentially fun!

So I brought in the shirt and spent a long time working on that skirt.  It needed the gross parts removed, it needed rehemming, and it needed to be brought in without bunching the liner.  Somehow I was able to accomplish it all, and the resulting outfit, in my opinion, looked great.

The lesson here is about being brave in trying new things.  Keep your eyes open when looking for things to alter for yourself if you’re looking at a thrift store.  The shirt and skirt together cost me $8 total.  Don’t see things as they are, but what they could be.

And while I certainly don’t want my whole wardrobe to be composed of refashions, it’s really nice to be able to have something that fits me once in a while that I didn’t have to sell my unborn children to get.

Image

Cardigan: Shade, Shirt: DI (refashion), Skirt: DI (refashion), Pumps: Charlotte Russe

4 Responses to “A Lesson in Refashioning”

  1. Adrien October 23, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    I want to know what they looked like before…

  2. Megan October 23, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    Kewl! I feel like I’ve already said my piece about these cool things you do. Anyway, did you know you can schedule posts so it looks like you wrote 3 different days in one week or once a week or whatever? I can show you how sometime.

  3. LP October 24, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    I agree with Adrien. Next time take before pictures so we can be awed by your skill in refashioning.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sew You Want New Pants « All This Knav'ry - November 1, 2012

    […]  Some of you lamented over the fact that I didn’t have a “before” picture for the skirt in this outfit.  I still don’t.  BUT.  I realized I kept the gross nasty bottom for some reason (although […]

Leave a Reply

