How I Organize My Junk – part 1 – Makeup

25 Jul

20120725-103953.jpg

So I feel like laughing at myself for that title, since I am rarely organized. However, I have found that amidst the chaos, there are a few things that, once they work, they stick. And that’s what I’m going to share here.

20120725-104048.jpg

I don’t have a lot of makeup (I don’t wear it often), so this first part is easy. I basically keep all my makeup (except the powder, because it’s broken and I don’t want to make a mess) in this little glass bowl that I found in my grandma’s dresser when I inherited it. She used to keep her shell collection in it but I’d like to find a curio shelf and display some of them that way. Oh tangents. Anyway, I like to clean the makeup residue off of everything sometimes and it stays pretty clean. I’ve just kept the stuff in the bowl on this shelf for… I don’t know, a couple of months now? If I need to go on a trip or do my makeup in the car or something, I put what I’m actually using in a Sonia Kashuk makeup bag I got at Target a few years ago.

20120725-104142.jpg

Well, that’s it! How do you guys organize your makeup?

7 Responses to “How I Organize My Junk – part 1 – Makeup”

  1. katie July 25, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    mine isn’t very organized. i wear make up probably…oh… once a year. maybe. that might be pushing it. i used to wear it every day. anywho, i keep all my make up in a sonia kashuk bag as well, except mine is big and square-ish. anywho, in the top/lid thing, there’s a clear zip-up case that can be velcro-ed into the case. i keep all my face make up in there (foundation, concealer, bronzer, my green powder, and loose powder) and everything else is in the main part. when i go somewhere and want to bring make up, i take the clear thing, throw in the stuff i want from the depths below, and leave the rest behind.

    • Megan July 25, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      Sounds like a good system to me! I like that you can zip off part of it and take it with you if you want to. Sounds handy.

      So… Do you think you want to try blogging here sometime? If you get some pictures (and they don’t have to be outfit pictures – honestly they can be about any hobby you’re interested in, if you’d rather – since we’re trying to broaden the scope a little bit.) and write a little something or tell me the main idea I can try posting for you. It’s up to you, though.

    • Megan July 25, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      Oops not zip off, I meant the Velcro part.

  2. katie July 26, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    i got what you meant. i guess i could try blogging here if you want me to. i just feel like i don’t really have anything to contribute. but i’ll attempt it if you wish.

  3. shannon October 23, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    I am doing this.

    • Adrien October 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      me too! this afternoon. yessss

      • Megan October 23, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

        Yay for you guys! Will you post pictures when you’re done? I should finish this series…

Leave a Reply

