hot July ain’t good to me

10 Aug

This post is for Katie since she said she missed seeing updates.  Honestly I’m pretty sure it’s just her (she?) and our Mom reading at this point.  And that just makes me all kinds of less nervous and more liable to let things slide like lyrics that only barely make sense as post titles.

So yeah.  Shannon and I are awesome.  Sorry, Adrien, it’s just plain facts.  Stuff happens when you’re off cavorting/cataloging secret artifacts in the nation’s capitol.

Badow.

totes presh

Also, Shannon is incredibly creative and talented.  She refashioned (sorry Shannon, can’t think of a more apt term that you hate less) a few skirts lately and I’m hoping she’ll post about them here sometime soon.  Very soon, cause she’s going to Italy.  I-ta-ly.  Like, as in, there’s a snail in your ear.  Tangents… right then, here she is in all her skirty glory.

wut, you want this?

Honestly I haven’t had much free time lately.  See, I have this adorable babe that prefers not to sleep in her bed.  That’s just silly.  Why would you sleep in a bed when you can sleep here?  I mean, really.

I whip my hair back and forth. I mean my existential hair, of course.

That’s my Harry Potter O RLY? Owl t-shirt, btw.  Almost as comfy as my Do-you-not-know-who-I-am? T-shirt.

Sooo… yeah.  I don’t want to say my self-esteem is shot lately, because I feel pretty good about life in general and I’m happy with my family and things.  I think it’s just my self-image… if that makes sense.  Everything’s changed (again) and I’m tired.  Tired of not sleeping and worrying about various baby things and tired of looking different than I used to.  It’s not a new story, it’s a tired story.  Ha.

Also, the story/novelish thing I’ve been working on for almost a year (which is mostly in my head because there is a grand total of 18 pages written down, mostly non-linear and confusing to anyone who is not me) is a little too serious (or perhaps just serious enough?) and I tend to get all emo when my husband is out of town for work and I really shouldn’t blog at 3 in the morning especially when I’m listening to things by Lindsey Buckingham and why do they even bother making soy ice cream because it doesn’t even taste good.

And this is why I don’t blog regularly.  Or this is why I don’t talk to people.  Or both.

You know what I’m saying?

So that’s a no, then.

12 Responses to “hot July ain’t good to me”

  1. shannon August 10, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    hm… I think I like it when you blog at 3am. This is the best post evar.
    And don’t worry, I got ALL your references.

    • Megan August 10, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

      I would expect nothing less. =)

  2. LP August 10, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Hmm, sounds like you *do* need somebody to talk to! As always, I enjoy your posts. (Soy ice cream haha! I was just looking at that in the store two days ago and wondering if it was any good. Now I know.) You’ll notice I haven’t posted anything por mucho tiempo either. When one has nothing to say, one had pretty generally better not say it.

    Cute pictures all around.

    • Megan August 10, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      I do want someone to talk to sometimes, but often I’m quite content to be on my own. Thank you for the compliments!
      Okay, one thing that bugs me about non-dairy ice cream is that they don’t add calcium like they do with milk replacements. So then there are no other benefits from these things unless you count the soy nutrients. I didn’t, obviously. I like that they usually don’t use regular white sugar, though. I do think it’s worth noting that Luna and Larry (or whomever) makes a pretty good dark chocolate ice cream from coconut milk. It has a coconut flavor to it, tho, so I wouldn’t consider it just dark chocolate flavor. However, it’s 6 bucks for a small container, and while I’d say that would be worth it once in a while if it tasted excellent, I don’t think I feel the same when it’s just pretty good. I also want to tell you I made a pretty decent mug of cocoa with vanilla soy milk, bitter chocolate and agave syrup. It was worth making again.

  3. Emily August 10, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Oh you make me smile! You guys are so cute. So is Maya. I like to keep up on your blog too… though with recent internet issues I wasn’t able to comment on anything.

    • Megan August 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

      oh, thank you! I’m glad you still enjoy our blog… you still have internet issues in your new place?

  4. caffeinerd August 11, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    SO CUTE! So nice to see photos of the newest addition to your family (and sister love, of course).

  5. katie August 12, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    a post! hurray! i’m so happy. so…. i know all about the “i had a baby and life is different and i look different and what the heck is going on here” mood. as i’m sure you’re aware, you adjust over time and then it’s no big deal. you know what i found interesting? the pictures in this post are the first in which i’ve seen a family resemblance between you and shannon. i’ve never seen it before. obviously i’ve known all along that’ you’re sisters, but like me and kelly….there’s just no seeing it. but i finally did. i cracked the code…or something. probably no code. but anywho, i like when you blog at 3 in the morning, except i feel bad because you should be taking advantage of sleeping time. the only time i ever plan on being up at 3 in the morning ever again in my life is possibly “helping” santa on christmas eve/christmas morning. even then, my goal is to be finished much closer to midnight or so.
    caleb is talking to himself in his bed right now. he’s supposed to be sleeping. it looks like he has something in common with you.

    • Megan August 19, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      Yeah I don’t think Adrien, Shannon and I look much alike, but there are some similarities, especially in our mannerisms, I think. Yes, you cracked the code!

      I do talk to myself in bed. It freaks Jared out.

      • katie August 19, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

        Oh yeah…in mannerisms the resemblance is totally there; I’d just never seen it physically before.
        Do you talk to yourself in bed, or in your sleep? I occasionally talk in my sleep. Shaun talks in his sleep pretty often. He’s said some interesting things. He never believes me when I tell him the next morning.

        • Megan August 20, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

          I just talk to myself in general. And honestly, it doesn’t really freak Jared out that much, he’s used to it. I just wanted to copy you. However, when he sneezes it often startles me. I don’t think that’s the same thing, though. Jared’s talked in his sleep a few times, once he had a conversation with me that he didn’t remember later. And Jared’s mom talks in her sleep a LOT. It’s pretty entertaining. So… you should record Shaun talking in his sleep. And then you can prove it to him. And then you should let me listen to it because it would amuse me.

Leave a Reply

