far and away

13 Jun

So while Megan has been growing a baby (she’ll be here so soon! – at least I hope) and Shannon has been digging her life away, I’ve been out in DC doing an internship all by my lonesome. Well, I’ve been out here for 2 weeks anyway. It feels like a lot longer than that though.  Anyway, the reason I haven’t posted at all until now is because of this:

except add maybe 5-10 degrees for the high for each of these days...

Seriously, one of the days last week it got up to 103 degrees. Ugh. Anyway. So I haven’t posted because when I get home after work I am covered in sweat and it’s disgusting and the only thing I want to do is take off as much clothing as possible and park myself in front of the air conditioner for a while.

Today has been the first day since I’ve been here that it has been a reasonable temperature (i.e. I don’t want to die when I step outside) – it’s maybe 80.

Cut to the chase…here’s an outfit picture! Sorry it’s not very exciting and my hair is kind of wonky:

shirt: old navy; cardigan: jcrew; skirt: nordstrom rack; flats: anne klein; necklace: h&m

Mom and Dad are coming to visit this weekend! That will be only the second time in 3 weeks that I will play tourist since I’ve been out here. It’s kind of boring to go sightseeing by myself.  Instead, most of the time I’ve been here has been spent with these people:

Don’t judge.

5 Responses to “far and away”

  1. Megan June 13, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Yay! I was so excited to see you post on the blog… It’s funny cause I’m working on a post right now, too, just not an outfit one. I hope you post a few pictures from your environs… Anyway, you look lovely and perfect for an internship. Do you still feel like your flats are comfortable? They looked like they’d serve you well but I’m curious if you still think so after a couple weeks. Oh yeah and I’ve been meaning to ask, did the blackouts over there affect you?

    Also, I love Bones. I haven’t watched it in a while, but I’m thinking of just starting at the beginning and watching them all. Is that what you’re doing? You should catch up on Vampire Diaries… just sayin’.

    • Adrien June 13, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

      Haha yes! I’ve just been using Mom’s Netflix account and watching them straight through. I’ll finish season 4 tonight…probably finish season 5 by the end of the week and since season 6 isn’t on Netflix and only the last 5 episodes are on Hulu, I may start trying to find Vampire Diaries episodes from season 2 🙂 Do you remember where I left off by any chance…?

      And no, I don’t know of any blackouts unless they happened while I was asleep or something. There was a ton of lightning the other night though…it seriously lasted nonstop for a few hours. Pretty crazy.

      • Megan June 13, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

        Sweet! Oh, about TVD, I don’t remember, but something makes me think we only watched the first episode of the 2nd season… if that. I mean, we did start the 2nd season, right? I can’t remember. I’m probably the last one you should be asking! =P

        I’m glad you haven’t had to deal with the blackouts. I heard some people in D.C. were having blackouts because of the heat, but I don’t know how widespread it was. Did you like that storm or was it freaking you out?

        Oh and I really want to know about your shoes because I might get some like that sometime… I need new flats like, yesterday.

  2. Shannon June 13, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I like that you posted! You should for sure give some environs pictures. I’m super excited to come see you next week 🙂
    And I don’t watch Bones. What kind of Anthropologist am I?

  3. LP June 14, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    I really like this outfit! You look so metropolitan/eastern US.

Leave a Reply

