Haters gonna hate

5 May

top: old navy; jeans: gap; scarf: self-made; belt: forever 21; layopard flats: old navy

I went over to Megan’s on Monday and we got semi-crafty. As in I used a sewing machine for maybe the second time in my life and made this scarf. Well, Megan finished it when I got scared I would mess up the seam, but whatev. I mostly made it. And it cost like $10 for the fabric (which maybe sounds expensive, but I really wanted this fabric and I really wanted a scarf like this, which sells for upwards of $20-30 everywhere else I have seen it. So there).

Also, I love when Megan makes drafts of posts for me because she puts hilarious titles and comments in the post. The title of which I am leaving. I have no idea why she put “haters gonna hate” but I think it’s really funny.

5 Responses to “Haters gonna hate”

  1. Megan May 5, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Haha you freaked me out when you published this! I saw the author’s name was still mine and the title was the same so I started saying, “I didn’t publish that! I didn’t publish that!” literally out loud. I’m a spaz. I’m glad it was you. lol

    Anyway, I love the circle scarf, and I think we should try and finish your dresses sooooon… When?

    p.s. you forgot to mention how awesomely soft and delectable the material is… like you could use it for a pillow when traveling on trains…

  2. LP May 5, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    You look so cute! Ah, the sewing machine! Source of frustration in so many moments of my young life. Still, sometimes I wish I hadn’t given away my grandmother’s sewing machine. Not that I’d ever use it – although I might – but it was old fashioned and cool. (It looked sort of like this: http://www.flickr.com/photos/8812741@N02/814890200/)

    • Megan May 5, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      Wow that is a cool-looking sewing machine! Everyone I’ve heard of having one of those says that they still work really well. Granted, I bet sewing is a lot slower with those machines. You have to pump your feet or something to get it to go, right? But still, it’s cool. Who did you give it to, do you remember?

      • LP May 11, 2011 at 10:51 am #

        It was electric. You had to get it going by pushing a pedal on the floor (sort of like a gas pedal) and then using your hand to turn the wheel on the side. Once it got going, you could let go of the wheel. Or something like that. At least, that’s how I remember it being, since it’s been over 30 years. I gave it to Aunt Lori, because she sewed a lot more than me (anyone who sews at all sews a lot more than me) and because she didn’t have that much stuff belonging to our grandmother.

  3. Megan May 5, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    I just saw “layopard”. You crack me up!

Leave a Reply

