Swapaholic!

5 Mar

I don’t know if you all had time to see it, but I posted a thing on Twitter last night inviting all of you to attend the Swapaholic thing at BYU today.  It was an event that a friend of mine was putting on for one of her classes.  It had a great turnout, but I’m sorry to say most of the clothes I’m pretty sure had been in hiding since 1997.  I donated a lot of stuff (sort of) and only got a few things that I’m not likely to wear often, as I got them to wear at Field School this summer.  Leftover clothes went to a shelter up in Salt Lake.

What I donated:

What I got in return:

Three T-shirts to get dirty in and a long-sleeve button up to protect me from gnats!  And yes, that yellow shirt does say “Real bear hugs are often fatal.”  I thought that was kind of funny.

After it all, I’m pretty sure other people made out way better than I did because I brought better stuff than them.  Boo.  But at least now I’m more on my way to being prepared for Field School, AND the clothes were free.  Fantastic!

6 Responses to “Swapaholic!”

  1. Megan March 5, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    lol I love your Mais Oui! book in the background. I think the bear hug shirt is funny, too!

    There are a couple things in your pile that I sort of wish you hadn’t gotten rid of… especially that yellow floral tank! I could have made a shirt for Rylie or the wee bairn… oh well. C’est la vie, mais oui, au jour d’hui, c’est fini. Just stop me any time.

  2. Shannon March 5, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Honestly, I was keeping it for just such a purpose, but I figured if I gave cool/good stuff, other people would too. Boy was I wrong :/ Oh well. It either went to some other BYU student or a deserving person at the shelter. Although I’m inclined to think it’s the former…

    • Megan March 5, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      You had cute stuff, I’m sure they’ll all be used well 🙂

  3. LP March 7, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Furniture upon the waters, I always say. (And if you can guess that reference, I’ll buy you lunch!)

    • Shannon March 7, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      Um…well… the book “Could be worse” (which moral is applicable?) was written by the same person who did “I Hate Rain,” where it rained so much everything flooded and the furniture floated upon the water!

    • Megan March 7, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      errmmm stab in the dark: To Say Nothing of the Dog? It’s probably not… and you probably weren’t asking me, anyway!

Leave a Reply

