Black + Brown = Sketchy?

21 Feb

dress: Gap Maternity (bought on clearance during my last pregnancy); fake leather jacket: Target (super old, also, like most of my wardrobe); tights: Assets, Motherhood Maternity; scarf as belt: was Grandma's; boots: (secondhand) Target

I was dancing when I took these pictures, so hopefully they don’t look too funny.  I think I left the worst ones out.  🙂

So I wore this yesterday and then, coincidentally, my mom made a comment on my other post about mixing black and brown accessories.  Obviously here all my accessories are brown… but the rest of my outfit is black.  I did feel a little odd about it, especially after telling my son the other day that he couldn’t wear his black track pants with a brown t-shirt… but for some reason I felt like I could get away with this.  Either that or I’m just a plain, old hypocrite.   Whatever.

Please know I'm laughing at myself right now.

Oh and I tried a tip my friend Janeen gave me the other day…  Mascara on my eyebrows!  I’ll admit I was a little bit skeptical when she said it worked, but I thought throwing down a few bucks to give it a shot wouldn’t hurt, and I’m actually very pleased with how it turned out!  I tried a dark brown shade and did it really, really softly like she said to, and look at the picture… I think it made subtle difference.  I’m probably the only one who can tell, aren’t I?  🙂

12 Responses to “Black + Brown = Sketchy?”

  1. Sherry February 21, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I love black and brown together! And your eyebrows look fantastic!

    • Megan February 21, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

      Thank you!

  2. janeen February 21, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    love the way the eyebrows turned out with that little trick 🙂 i like the mascara eyebrow thing because it adds easy structure… i’m lazy like that… you look really pretty as always… like black and brown together too 🙂

    • Megan February 21, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Thanks, Janeen! I think the lazy-but-effective tricks are the best kind, anyway. 🙂

  3. Emily February 22, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I like the eyebrows too! I fill in my brows with a brown shadow, but I like the idea of the mascara cause I bet it helps to keep all the hairs in place 🙂
    Also I like brown and black together. I can’t say I always did, but I do now. I’ve actually noticed on a lot of blogs that people are pairing a lot of black and brown or black, gray, and brown together and I like that.

    • Megan February 23, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      Thanks! I put brown eyeshadow on my eyebrows and then used clear mascara on top a couple times, but the eyeshadow looked too red for my eyebrows somehow.

  4. shannon February 22, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I think your eyebrows look good as always. What drew me more was your lee-ops! So pretty 🙂
    You remind me of Lisa Loeb or someone in the first picture.
    Very pretty 🙂

    • Megan February 23, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      haha lee-ops! Thanks, Shannon. 🙂

  5. LP February 22, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I think this outfit looks really good. Maybe leather doesn’t count as brown. I also think it depends on the shade of brown. And mixing black and brown is not the same as mixing stripes and plaid.

    • Megan February 23, 2011 at 8:32 am #

      Thanks, Mom. Very true that black and brown is not the same as stripes and plaid… although I’ve seen lots of people do that too. I think I told you that already when we discussed it last time, though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. See anything familiar? « All This Knav'ry - March 27, 2011

    […] fiction-y, really.  Anyway, you can see me in almost the exact same outfit (minus the sweater) here, and I’ve worn this sweater before (while pregnant, anyway) here, here, and […]

  2. My Personal Guide to Maternity Style « All This Knav'ry - June 13, 2011

    […] with most dresses, honestly, but one way to try and avoid this is to use belts or scarves either above or below the belly to highlight your actual shape.  Granted, I just couldn’t be bothered to do […]

Leave a Reply

