Handmade

20 Feb

shirt: charlotte russe; skirt: handmade by me; tights: Old Navy (gift); boots: MaddenGirl from Delias

I made this skirt, can you believe it?

Pretty nifty, huh?  I didn’t even use a pattern.  I intended it to be less tight and longer, but this is how it turned out.  I still like it mucho, though.  And I’m proud of myself.  The last thing I successfully made on my own using a sewing machine was a vest with highlighter-yellow flamingos in sunglasses on it when I was nine.  Oh shush, it was the 90s.  And I was nine.

Also, these are the boots that I exchanged the other ones for.  I like these ones way better, even if they are pretty roomy.  And the zipper cloth is awesome.

7 Responses to “Handmade”

  1. LP February 21, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Your talents abound! I’ve told you about my Disasters in Sewing, so I’m a little jealous. (Is the skirt a bit short? I wonder.) Also, Shannon, are these the same boots you asked about earlier, that you were thinking of returning? I think they look very good here.

    • shannon February 22, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

      mom, yeah, it is a little shorter than I intended, but I didn’t use a pattern, and the cloth was just some leftover stuff, so this is what I got. I will probably never where it without tights or leggings, and I’m still a little self-conscious about the length.
      also, those are not the same boots. I returned the other ones and got these instead. I like them way better!

      • shannon February 22, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

        *wear them

        • shannon February 22, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

          *wear it

        • Megan February 23, 2011 at 8:35 am #

          Oh and Shannon you seriously need to edit this post… the sources in the caption are all wrong, for one thing!

  2. Megan February 23, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I love teh boots and teh skirt and teh shirt. I think this skirt is the gateway to many other sewed and handmade possibilities… Next time we’ll just use a little more fabric, if you like.

    Oh, I sewed a baby blanket the other day! I forgot to tell you. Not NEARLY as impressive as a skirt, but I thought I’d share/brag/whatever.

  3. Megan February 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    haHA! I remember that vest!! Do you have a picture of it? More importantly, do you have a picture of yourself in it? If you do you should post it here…

Leave a Reply

