Brightness in the cold

20 Feb

jacket: (thrifted) Gap; dress: Gap Maternity (bought on clearance last year); under-tee: Shade; belt: thrifted; tights: Assets, Motherhood Maternity; shoes: (thrifted) Your Feet Look Gorgeous

I wore this last Sunday.   I just love how bright and cheerful the color is.  It’s exactly what I need as the winter wears on and on…

Actually what I need is some bright color, and maybe a pile of scones with lemon curd and a cup of hot cocoa.  Yep, that sounds good.

3 Responses to “Brightness in the cold”

  1. LP February 21, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Cute outfit, and I like the jacket. Question: I was raised with the notion that accessories should match or at least not clash, i.e., you wouldn’t carry a black purse with brown shoes, etc., so I’m wondering, what is the current thinking on this? Is it not a fashion gaffe to wear black shoes with a brown belt? Not that it looks bad, and maybe I only notice it because of how I was taught in my youth (that black and brown don’t go together), but I’m just wondering.

    • Megan February 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

      Okay before I answer your question I need to ask one: Do you think the belt I’m wearing here is brown? Cause it’s black. Must be the lighting. Anyway, to answer your question, I think people are more likely to get away with breaking the rules these days, but it depends on the accessory, in my opinion. I can’t really think of any examples. I think most people do try to not wear brown and black accessories together, though. They might wear colors together, though, like a yellow belt with white shoes, or a purple purse and green shoes (not clown green or purple, but darker colors probably).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Black + Brown = Sketchy? « All This Knav'ry - February 21, 2011

    […] I wore this yesterday, and then coincidentally, my mom made a comment on my other post about mixing black and brown accessories.  Obviously here all my accessories are brown… but […]

Leave a Reply

