Who you gonna run to?

9 Feb

long sleeve tee: (thrifted) Gap Maternity; skirt: Liz Lange for Target (super old); leggings: Walmart; boots-slippers: Old Navy; necklaces: Forever 21

There are so many reasons I feel like this outfit is all over the place.  I feel weird getting really dressed up since I’m a stay-at-home mom…  So if I’m sick of jeans, what am I supposed to do? 

I’ve been trying to draw inspiration from other bloggers and things I love.  Today I was kind of inspired by W. from Pretty Life Anonymous’s post about the color mint.  I read it and resolved to try the color sometime.  Then one day I hung my pink marble necklace on my towel rack (the usual spot I hang a necklace while I get dressed) and I thought, “wow I love that color combination”.  It was kind of mint, or at least it made me think of that post I mentioned.

I didn’t have a mint or aqua-colored top, so I kinda forgot about it for a few days.  Then last weekend I went to the mall with Shannon and I got a few necklaces from Forever 21.  Being who I am, they were all in a similar color family, like turquoise, mint, pale green, that kind of thing.  I happened to have a shell-pink t-shirt (it might be a tunic, but on my tall frame it looks like a t-shirt) and lo, I recreated the color combination.

I like it.  That’s pretty much all about the outfit I do like.  I like each element separately, but not together.  Maybe it could work if it were spring and I didn’t have to wear leggings and knock-off Uggs for warmth instead of a more appropriate-looking pair of shoes.  But I’m seriously getting bored of jeans.  Seriously.

I’m going to try and get inspiration from other bloggers a little more often lately.  I’m actually in the process of making an inspiration board (the digital kind) of maternity shots and a few “rules” (that’s not the right word… but I can’t think of a better one right now) that I get from the pictures.  I’ll try to finish that and blog about it sometime this week or next… pretty much for myself since I don’t think anybody who reads this is pregnant.  😉

Mmmkay song of the day:

6 Responses to “Who you gonna run to?”

  1. LP February 10, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    When you’re sick of jeans, then don’t wear them! I promise you, it’s okay to dress up to stay home. I think your outfit would look less “all over the place” if you wore some tights that matched the top, or at least were a lighter color. And I also really like the mint/pink combination.

    • Megan February 10, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks, Mom. I was thinking it would have looked better if I had some leggings or tights that were lighter, but I don’t have any (except my tacky almost gold leggings that I use for pj’s… lol). And the only tights that fit me now are maternity ones, anyway!

  2. Emily February 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    That’s funny that you weren’t too into this outfit, because my first thought (before I started reading) was that I really liked it. I actually like the dark leggings too. Haha.
    I’d actually really like to see what inspiration you find on maternity outfits. 🙂

    • Megan February 11, 2011 at 12:17 am #

      Haha thanks! That actually makes me feel a little better about it. Yay! One other person wants to see my inspiration. I should get working on that… I have all the pictures and the specific things I like, I just need to narrow it down and compile something.

  3. fashionfabrice February 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    aaawww those necklaces are gorgeous!! I love the mintgreen color of the stones in the one you are wearing:)

Leave a comment