I’m Indecisive; I Can’t Decide

18 Jan

I ordered these boots from Amazon and they came yesterday.  I desperately need new brown boots, or even ANY other boots besides the rain boots I always wear.  However, I have a number of issues with them!  First of all, they’re slip-on, and I was rather hoping for zip-up ones, because they’re easier to put on/take off, plus they air out between wearings a LOT better (trust me, this is necessary).  But they are also unattractively baggy, which is my main issue with them.  They are stiff up to a certain point on the ankle, which provides a nice place for the rest of the boot to rest, making them look pretty ridiculous (in my opinion).  It’s worse in not-skinny jeans, which is fine, except that I want to be able to wear any kind of pants with my boots if I need to.  But I am open to input.  Am I being paranoid and crazy, or do these boots actually look silly?

Top view (this is what I see) in skinny and boot-cut jeans:

Side view (I practically had to contort myself in order to get this angle, which is why my legs look a little weirdly bent in the boot-cut one) in boot-cut and skinny jeans:

And a view of the ankle in different positions of the foot, as it might look while I walk (am I analyzing this too much?  Maybe.):

…And yes, I did just reference a Justin Bieber song.  So sue me.

10 Responses to “I’m Indecisive; I Can’t Decide”

  1. lp January 18, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    They do look a little strange at certain angles, but in most of the pictures they look fine for the kind of boot they are. If you’re indecisive, though, you should probably send them back. Can you send them back?

  2. Janeen January 18, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    I think they look cute… It maybe just me but I think boots look best with fitted pants or at least ones that are tapered at the bottom… I think aside from ugg styled boots (not a fan), it’s hard to find a fitted boot that you can wear wider pants tucked in… Even if you find zip up boots, if you wear wider pants you may have to keep adjusting the pants to stay in the boot through out wearing them… Plus zippered boots are usually tighter and so they may feel uncomfortable with wider pants tucked into them…
    that aside, if you’re not sure about them and don’t see yourself wearing them you may want to return them so they don’t just sit in your closet…
    all though, if you are like me, I usually am apprehensive about an item in my closet and need some time to warm up to it… it’s silly but a lot of my favorite items, I neglected them and don’t see how they would work and then months later, they are all I wear…
    Anyways, just rambling, I don’t even know if that all made sense… I’m just bored waiting in a parking lot for my husband to get out of jujitsu, ha!

  3. Megan January 18, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    wellll I like them alright. I think anything you don’t love, you shouldn’t keep, unless it just takes time to warm up to something, like with Janeen. I can’t remember how you are, although it seems like you’re the type to just leave something unworn if you didn’t like it initially. Anyway, I think they look way better with skinny jeans, and if you think that’s going to limit you too much, then these boots aren’t for you. I also agree with Janeen again, though, that most jeans tucked into boots just look better when they’re of the skinny persuasion. Anyway, I think your calves are probably thin enough to find a zip up boot that will still fit over your leg and a pair of skinny jeans. Lots of people wouldn’t be able to pull it off, but people like you could, and I think it’s a nice look.

  4. Pretty Life Girls January 19, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I completely agree with Megan. You shouldn’t keep them unless you love them. Let us know if you want help finding some new ones for a good deal 🙂

    • Shannon January 19, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

      I do! Give me your input, please 🙂

      • Pretty Life Girls February 4, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

        If you haven’t found any new ones yet/decided to keep these, email some pics of what style you are looking for and we will start the look out!

        • Shannon February 7, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

          I ordered some other ones, so we’ll see how those turn out. If they’re no good, I’ll definitely let you know so you can keep your eyes peeled for me! Thanks so much!

  5. janeen January 19, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    i originally viewed these pictures on my phone and they were smaller… now that i see them bigger, i do see what you meant about how it is more structured and stiff at the bottom and then is visibly slouchy after the ankle point… i think that would bug me too… if you don’t like them you should return them…
    ebay has a good variety of boots as well, a lot of cute vintage ones…

  6. Adrien January 19, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I think boots always look better with skinny jeans too. I think “bootcut” means the boots are supposed to go over the jeans. But yeah.
    I think they’re cute, but I think you could find something you like better, especially at the same price point.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday Tip from Tog + Porter | Tog + Porter - November 6, 2012

    […] via allthisknavery.com and […]

Leave a Reply

