Waisted

16 Jan

So I’m at an odd stage in my pregnancy when it comes to getting dressed, right?  When I was pregnant with my son, I was still pretty skinny and could get away with wearing whatever and I had no fear of love handles.  Now… not so much with the fearlessness.

coat: (gift) Old Navy Tall; lace top: (secondhand) Forever 21; skirt: (secondhand) Pendleton; tights: Assets, Motherhood Maternity; mary janes: (thrifted) Your Feet Look Gorgeous

So I have a bit of a dilemma, right?  I can’t wear any of my skirts below my belly because that just looks like I belong on a flea-ridden couch with a beer and my hand down my pants.  Ew.  I have a couple skirts with a stretchy waistband, but they just look bizarre cutting across the middle of my tummy.  Enter Steve Urkel.  Of course, when my husband saw me wearing this today, he said, “That’s very… high.”  Yes, yes indeed.  So I guess I’m still not sure about this, and it’s not going to work for the whole pregnancy, but I think it’ll do for now.

I love this detail in the back.

Anyway, does anyone have any advice about working around the belly?  I do actually want to try and make more of an effort this time around, at least some of the time.  I’ve got a few ideas from other bloggers and street fashion blogs that I’m going to try, but I know I’m in dire need of help.  I’m not too proud.  😉

It's growing... (too creepy?)

Oh, one more question.  Do you think I should fill in my brows more with powder or pencil or something?  Look:

rowr

11 Responses to “Waisted”

  1. Shannon January 17, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    I don’t really have suggestions for how to work around “the bump,” but I don’t think you really need to fill in your eyebrows, but maybe that’s just me. I think they look good how they are 🙂
    also, you looked very pretty today.

    • Megan January 17, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      Thanks Shannon 🙂

  2. Janeen January 17, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    I wore my skirts like that for a time during my pregnancy. I think you look cute, nothing wrong with the high waist look 🙂 enjoy it while you still can wear it… I think your eyebrows are fine as well, but it’s up to you… Sometimes I VERY lightly brush a little mascara over my eyebrows to add a more solid shape and fill in the little gaps… of course you wouldn’t want to use a black mascara, but they sale different shades of brown…

    • Megan January 17, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks Janeen! I think I might try the brown mascara trick sometime… just to see how it looks on me.

  3. Janeen January 17, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    I love the natural makeup look and how the eyebrows stand out in the top photos…
    http://www.theglamourai.com/2010/10/stole-show.html

    • Megan January 17, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      Oh wow yeah that is striking! Kinda makes me wish I had better bone structure so I could pull it off, though. =P

  4. katie January 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    so, when i was pregnant, i basically wore 3 things to church…a green maxi dress from old navy, and 2 of those dresses like this: http://hip2save.com/2010/03/old-navy-smocked-dresses-only-5-60.html i wore them as skirts. actually, all the dresses were from old navy. they were super comfortable and lasted my whole pregnancy. plus, because of the style they are, i can wear them now, too. you should look into those.

    • Megan January 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

      oh yeeeaaahhh… old navy! they have all kinds of stretchy skirts, I forgot. I do really want to try maxi dresses, although I wish I didn’t look so much like a bell in them with the big belly and the big booty. I mean, I haven’t tried one on when I was pregnant, but I can imagine pretty well. Anyway, they look super comfortable, though. So I *will* look into those.

      • katie January 19, 2011 at 10:06 am #

        glad i could help! i hope you find something that works.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All This Knav'ry - February 21, 2011

    […] and I tried a tip my friend Janeen gave me the other day…  Mascara on my eyebrows!  I’ll admit I was a little bit skeptical when she said it […]

  2. Black + Brown = Sketchy? « All This Knav'ry - February 21, 2011

    […] and I tried a tip my friend Janeen gave me the other day…  Mascara on my eyebrows!  I’ll admit I was a little bit skeptical when she said it […]

Leave a Reply

