golden bow

16 Jan

long sleeved shirt: shade; skirt: gap; tights and scarf: target; ankle boots: very volatile via endless

I love this pleated skirt. I got it on super sale at Gap on New Year’s Eve when I needed something to wear that night.

I’d been craving this skirt for a couple of months since it appeared on the racks, but no way was I going to pay $60 for this baby. No way, no how. When I went into Gap that day, they were having 40% off of everything on sale. I had hoped to find this skirt, but really wasn’t surprised when there weren’t any left (the very last one was being clutched by some girl walking around the store, browsing other items and obviously not as committed to the skirt as I was). My heart sank a little bit as I decided to give up and look for something else.

And then suddenly, it was there, on a rack. She’d put it down. Le gasp. Literally, I think I might have gasped. I picked it up – very quickly and obviously drawing attention to myself. This particular item was an online return, two sizes too big and in a tall length. Even better than I imagined! The skirt is actually supposed to be worn at your waist, but it being too large and a tall size means it sits at my hips and is knee length.  Hallelujah. I couldn’t have planned it better if I’d tried.

Oh, and it was also $18.

And there ends the ballad of the golden pleated skirt with which I am now very much in love.

4 Responses to “golden bow”

  1. Megan January 16, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Huzzah! I love the skirt, and the story about how you got it made me laugh. And yay for outdoor pictures!

  2. lp January 16, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Me gusta mucho. What a bargain! And what a great story. I can sort of relate: sometimes I try really hard to keep my eyes from popping out of my head when a particularly interesting book comes into the Shelf.

  3. Shannon January 17, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    I can totally imagine you doing that. I don’t even need to imagine, because you do it all the time (..?)
    Anyway, it’s totally pretty, and I’m jealous that you’re getting new skirts! 😦

  4. Shey January 26, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Oh to have the perfect shape to wear this skirt, it looks great on you and I love this outfit, everything about it is cute, I tried that skirt on at the store and it was too short, like mid-thigh, too voluminous made me look 2 sizes bigger, so I had to leave it, but it fits you so nice!

Leave a Reply

