once again

11 Jan

top: target; cardigan: pacsun; pants: gap; belt: forever 21; shoes: bc via ebay; scarf: target

I always look scared in my pictures. Hm.

Anyway. Today was the second day of teaching my new class and so far I already like this one a lot better than the one last semester – I really think it will go a lot more smoothly than the last one did. Plus, I’m very familiar with the topic. Helpful!

This top and this scarf don’t exactly match, but I like it. I think it works because they’re very similar colors, although paisley and sequins are not really the same. I don’t know. But I like it.

I have a goal for this year, and it’s rather lofty (for me, anyway). I’m going to try not to buy any new clothes, with a few exceptions. I did buy these pants last Saturday but it was a planned purchase because I needed a new pair of dress pants for teaching and possibly for an internship this summer.  I also will allow myself to buy another skirt or dress if I find one that I really really like and isn’t too expensive.  I’m also allowing myself to replace camisoles if I need to because I wear them with everything.

It’s kind of daunting, but I think I can do it. It will really make me focus on what I have and not on what I think I need. I really do have a lot, which I am grateful for. It’s time to look at it all in different ways!

3 Responses to “once again”

  1. Shannon January 11, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    that is a good goal! I would do the same thing, but I’m not as brave as you. Plus all my clothes have holes and such as it is…
    PS I think the shirt/scarf looks fine.

  2. LP January 12, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    I think the scarf matches really well. At least, I can see elements of color of both the top and the cardigan in it. A very nice outfit.

  3. Megan January 12, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    I concur re: the scarf and top. To paraphrase Stacy London, “it doesn’t have to match, it just goes”.

    And wow! Good luck with your goal! I don’t think I could do that. Especially since I know I’m going to need to buy more maternity pants soon (and unfortunately I’ve never had any luck finding long enough pants at thrift stores).

    I look forward to seeing how your year goes with that goal.

Leave a Reply

