The Dragons of Blueland

12 Dec

faux-wrap dress and tank: Down East Basics; shoes: thrifted; tights: (gift) Target

Just a simple outfit today so I could show off my blue tights.  Adrien got them for me for my birthday a few months ago.  Actually, she got me black ones, but I exchanged them for blue.  My first pair of colored tights. 

Actually, that’s probably not true.  I think I had colored tights when I was a little girl.  I don’t know that for a fact, but I do remember I had white tights.  I wore them with black and white saddle shoes.

So somewhere in there is a segue to the title of this blog post, which is the title of one of my (many, many) favorite books from my childhood.  The Dragons of Blueland is a book from a short series about a boy and his little dragon friend and their adventures.  As I recall, somebody’s always rescuing somebody else.  But one of my favorite things was at the very beginning of My Father’s Dragon (the first one) the boy just packs up his knapsack and goes on an adventure.  I always thought that sounded so carefree and wonderful.  Now that I’m older, I think it was very thoughtless of him to just leave his mother like that.  I still like the books though, and I still love the idea of just taking off somewhere for a while.

8 Responses to “The Dragons of Blueland”

  1. Shannon December 12, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    I loved that series! I think the second one was my favorite. Anyway, I like the blue tights. You should branch out more with other colors and patterns. Just don’t be tacky about it 😉

    • Megan December 13, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks. Yeah, I’d prefer to avoid tackiness.

  2. LP December 13, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    I agree with Shannon that you should branch out. How about some dark red (burgundy? maroon?) colored tights? But I would, if I were you, avoid yellow, bright green, pink, and colors like that. As a child you had white tights and pale pink tights. Pale pink is good for little girls, but it doesn’t seem a very mature color; it looks too much like cotton candy.

    My favorite book in the series is the first one. But I never read them as a child, so I think that skews my perspective.

    • Megan December 13, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      I’ve wanted some red or burgundy tights… I think I borrowed Adrien’s once. I thought about getting yellow once, but I don’t think I could pull it off. That and I’d constantly be thinking about Malvolio.

  3. Brittney December 17, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    welcome to the colored tights club! it’s a beautiful place to be. and colorful. 🙂

    • Megan December 17, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

      Thanks! I love the way you use colored tights, actually. I might try and use you for inspiration… =)

  4. the shiny rock December 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Hey girls!
    I really like your blog! well done!

    • Megan December 23, 2010 at 9:29 am #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

