hmmm…

1 Dec

top: h&m; cardigan: pacsun; jeans: gap; ankle boots: target; scarf: h&m; earrings: icing

I really like H&M. Sadly, there isn’t one with 350 miles of here. So when I actually get to go, I make sure to get something. Cheap trendy clothes? Yes please.

Anyway. Because I only shop at H&M when I’m somewhere other than home, the clothes I get there actually hold some memories for me. This top, for instance, I got at the H&M in Bath, England when we went on that trip back in the spring. Every time I wear it, I remember getting pooped on by nasty birds, eating scones in the square by the Roman baths, and then doing some shopping for retail therapy to recover from the bird incident. I also remember the beautiful purple flowers my mom and Megan bought me to make me feel better.

This scarf was a more recent purchase – I bought it at the H&M in Georgetown in DC when I was there a couple of weeks ago. It was pouring rain most of the day and I walked 3 miles from my hostel to the store just so I could go shopping (if that’s not commitment, I don’t know what is). I bought this scarf and a necklace. I think the scarf is beautiful, and now I’ll pretty much always remember that little trip whenever I wear it.

9 Responses to “hmmm…”

  1. Shannon December 1, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    that’s cool, I have memories in certain clothes too 🙂
    that scarf is beautiful. Also, I remember Bath too. Just so you know. In case you thought I didn’t.

  2. janeen December 1, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    i have those boots! targets awesome, cute outfit…

    • Adrien December 2, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

      thanks! and yeah…i love target. probably more than i should…

  3. lp December 2, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    That scarf is beautiful. Clothing = memories. I like it. I guess that’s why I’ve never got rid of that sweatshirt (aka hoodie to you) I got in Costa Rica even though I haven’t been able to wear it during the last 25 years.

    • shannon December 2, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

      I love that jacket! I’ve probably worn it more than you have in the past decade. So there are different memories associated with it than yours, which I also think is interesting.

      • Adrien December 2, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

        for some reason i can’t figure out what jacket you are talking about…

      • shannon December 2, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

        It’s like a dark blue, thin hooded sweatshirt with a front pocket and a half-zip thing. Mom got it in Costa Rica, and it smells like ancient secrets 🙂

      • Megan December 3, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

        Ancient secrets!? lol. I have memories with that sweatshirt too, I wore it a lot in high school. I think it’s kinda cool that we could all share that, although it would be nice to be suddenly assaulted with images and smells from Costa Rica when you put it on, even though we’ve never been. *That* would certainly be mysterious!

  4. Megan December 3, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    That is a very pretty scarf, and I love how the stripes look with it and the yellow cardigan. I’m so nostalgic for England… I’m sure you can relate 😉

Leave a Reply

