I really didn’t say everything I said

7 Nov

hat: (gift) Target; neck-tie blouse: (secondhand) Banana Republic; wool trousers: (thrifted) Pendleton; shoes: thrifted

This is an outfit that I thought about, put it on, and then thought, “Wow… I really don’t know about this!”  But then I thought some more and decided, “Eh, they’re just clothes.  Nobody cares anyway!”  Of course if I always had that attitude, I probably wouldn’t have this blog with my sisters.  Still.  It helped me feel less self-conscious.

Nobody made any negative comments about the trousers, thank goodness, but I did get a couple compliments on my hat. 

When I originally bought these trousers a couple months ago, I thought they’d be great to turn into cuffed shorts to wear with tights.  Upon further reflection, I’m not sure there’s a way to do that stylishly while still keeping my standards of modesty.  The trousers are really great quality (even though not the most flattering for my particular shape) so I’d hate to mess them up on a project that might not end up working out anyway.  I guess the length of the shorts wouldn’t matter as much if I just wore thick leggings underneath… I don’t know.  I’ve got another pair of kind of plaid/houndstooth trousers I was planning on doing the same thing to, as well.  I guess I’ll try making longer shorts with those first and see how it turns out!

8 Responses to “I really didn’t say everything I said”

  1. shannon November 8, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    Well I think it’s cute, even if it is a little costumey for my taste. I have a question about the leggings and shorts thing. don’t leggings fall under “skin-tight clothing?” this is something I debate with my self all the time.

    • Megan November 9, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

      Obviously we were emailing about this, but I’ll just reply here as well… I think if leggings are thick enough they don’t make me feel like I’m uncomfortable or immodest. I know everyone views modesty differently though.

      • LP November 10, 2010 at 10:23 am #

        It seems to me that as long as no length adjustments are being made to the first layer underneath, and the leggings are thick enough that they cover up adequately, and there’s a skirt or something to cover the lower part of the torso so you don’t look like you’re some kind of retarded modern dance performer, then it’s okay.

  2. LP November 8, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    If the leggings are thick enough, they would be like skin-tight jeans, and I see those a lot. I personally think skin-tight clothing would be very uncomfortable, unless it’s made of stretchy material.

    But all that aside, of course you got a compliment on your hat because your hat is so cool! Actually, I think your outfit looks rather 80s. (Good 80s, not bad, overdone 80s.) I like it.

    • Megan November 9, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

      Oh yeah, I should have referred to your comment – I do like stretchy stuff, it’s very comfy! I like to wear clothes I feel like I could do yoga in, although I guess even slightly stretchy jeans don’t really fill that.

      I’m actually warming up to more 80s things little by little… I used to think the way Molly Ringwald dressed in Sixteen Candles was kinda lame, but I watched it again the other day and I decided I like it, especially the outfit she wears at first:

      http://www.refinery29.com/rip-john-hughes-our-favorite-s.php

      (The outfit I’m talking about is in the second picture group of pics just from Sixteen Candles, and it’s kinda split into the top two photos)

      I don’t know… can you think of any other examples of ‘good 80s’? Or just examples period, if you don’t think Molly Ringwald’s outfit was all that great. =)

  3. LP November 10, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    IMO:

    bad 80s fashion: boy george, dale bozzio , madonna, most punk styles, shoulder pads and really high bangs (like in ‘working girl’), off-the-shoulder oversized t-shirts and sweatshirts (c’mon, sister, just get something that fits, ok?), jumpsuits, spandex, mullets (although I must confess I kind of appreciated mullets when they first started showing up; it was such a refreshing change from the long unkempt hair lots of guys had in the 70s), scrunch socks with heels, asymmetrical haircuts (except cyndi lauper, because she would have looked weird with a normal haircut), wearing white sports shoes all the time

    good 80s fashion: looser clothing overall, slightly baggy pant legs with narrower ankles, molly ringwald’s outfits you pointed out, fleetwood mac outfits in some of their videos, vests, variable skirt lengths for women (you didn’t look like a grandma when you wore a below-the-knee hemline), fingerless gloves, painter’s pants, sunglasses at night :), hats, non-sagging pants for men, most of the costumes in ‘xanadu’ (except the tubes, who are wearing jumpsuits, and the people dancing around them, who are wearing spandex), stevie nicks’ hair, kate bush’s hair, the costumes on ‘remington steele’, rat tails (although, where kids were concerned, the length of the rat tail was directly in proportion to the behavioral problems of said kid), preppy styles (when used with restraint)

    • Megan November 10, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

      Wow! Your comment was pretty entertaining to read, and I think I actually agree with you on most of them. I just don’t think I could ever like mullets and rat tails… =)

      • Shannon November 29, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

        I’m surprised that you liked so much of the 80s stuff, mom! But mullets and rat tails? I agree with megan, haha

Leave a Reply

