from Wednesday

4 Nov

tunic: H&M; wool skirt: from a swap; tights: Gap; mary janes: (thrifted) Your Feet Look Gorgeous

Another picture with not-great lighting…   And can you tell I need more shoes to go with skirts?  I’m imagining something with a platform, even if it would make me about 6′ 3″.  

Anyway, I wanted to blog about another of the wool skirts I got at a swap last spring!  I knew I’d be so glad I got them when colder weather came back.  This plaid number is one of them.  I think it’s kinda cute, especially with this big button in the back:

I also love the tag – I can’t tell if it’s the name of a boutique or if someone really just made tags for all their handmade clothes!

Here’s a picture of my hair.  I was going to try to do milk-maid or Heidi braids (a second attempt – the first time my husband asked if I was actually going out like that… :sigh:) but I just think my hair’s far too thick to pull it off.  I might try it again when my hair’s wet and not so crazy-thick-and-frizzy.  I decided to do an adapted version of the style Laura does in Little House on the Prairie when she grows up (at least she does it in the book… I don’t know if she did it on the show).

4 Responses to “from Wednesday”

  1. caffeinerd November 4, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Ooh fun skirt and I LOVE the hair! I do a spiky, sloppy version of this a lot (because my hair is a) shorter and b) I have no hair-styling abilities) and wish I could get it more refined. You look great!

    • Megan November 5, 2010 at 11:03 am #

      Thank you so much! The spiky version sounds fun, actually!

  2. shannon November 5, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    but how did you do the hair?

    • Megan November 6, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      Oh, um, actually it’s slightly different than how Laura does it in LHOTP. She just has one braid that she wraps in a spiral on the back of her head, but my hair’s too thick for that. So I kept the two braids I’d made for the heidi/milk maid style and then just put one in a spiral and then put the other in another spiral around the first one. At intervals I’d just stick in big bobby pins. It didn’t turn out as neat as it sounds, but I liked that my hair was close to my head (not like an alien head) and that it stayed pretty well.

Leave a Reply

