Make me an outfit!

21 Sep

I’m terrible at using accessories.  I hardly wear any, and when I do, I feel overdone.  One time (not recently, I promise) I decided I was going to put on every piece of jewelry, etc that had anything to do with the ocean (shells, seastars, lighthouses, etc).  I felt all cool and jangly, but everyone was giving me strange looks.  Needless to say, I never did that again, but it sort of helped me break out of the “no-accessories-ever” funk I was in.

Anyway, since I’m bad at deciding what looks good, what’s acceptable, etc (clearly), I’d like your opinion on something I’ve been thinking about.  My summer roommates went to Guatemala and got me this neat scarf:
(The lighting’s bad, but it’s essentially blue with a few stripes)

Could I wear this as a belt?  (In this or this manner)

Could I wear it as a belt with this skirt?  And maybe this shirt?

If so, what style of shoes do you suggest?  Color?  Style?

See, this is fun.
Thanks everyone 🙂
7 Responses to “Make me an outfit!”

  1. Shannon September 21, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    I said “etc” three times in that post.

    • Megan September 21, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      If you don’t like it, edit it! Beauty.

  2. LP September 21, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    To answer your questions:

    1. yes
    2. yes
    3. yes
    4. yes
    5. black
    6. casual

    PS I think the scarf is pretty.

  3. Megan September 22, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    So here are my two cents.
    I answer yes to the same questions mom answered…

    I think black is also a fine color, but you know me… I think other shoe colors would be just fine! I think converse sneakers, your new short boots, and even your green flats would be great. I also thought of flip flops but you probably won’t use that idea much in the coming months.

    I could see you wrapping the scarf low on your hips (the ends hanging down… is it long enough for that?) with jeans and a t-shirt, or (depending on the length/width) you could use it as a hair wrap, or if you had the right black dress, you could tie a simple, pretty knot and just wear it around your neck with that. Juxtaposition. Yum. Speaking of juxtaposition, I think pattern mixing is great so if you wore it around your neck with a patterned shirt, that would be cute, too!

    I love your scarf, and I too think it’s pretty.

  4. Franca September 22, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    Hi, thanks for your comment on my blog (actually, it was Megan, but I’m commenting on the newest post, so there you go!). From what I can see this scarf would work fantastically well as a thin belty (like link 1) and with both the skirts. I’m not sure about wearing it as a wrap skirt, because the material looks like it wouldn’t neccessarily stay in place but that might just be the photo. I would go for smartish shoes to even out the casualness of the scarf. Not high heels or anything, but not trainers either. Some cute flats maybe? Colours: anything that is in the scarf – i.e blue, black, gold or burgundy. Can’t go wrong with matching colours! F x

  5. Ana October 22, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Just found your blog viA Location Central! I just saw someone do the cutest thing with their scarf, here’s the link http://www.clothedmuch.com/2010/10/working-it.html CUTE CUTE BLOG!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Conclusion « All This Knav'ry - October 12, 2010

    […] October 12, 2010 by Shannon Remember when I asked for help with my scarf? I finally got to test it out on Sunday, and I think it turned out very well.  I got a few […]

Leave a Reply

