The meat wrapped inside

14 Sep

I’ve been thinking lately that I need to re-prioritize some things.  For instance, I have far too many blogs on my reader.  I have 675 unread blog posts right now, and that’s not an unusual number even though I check my reader a few times a day.  It’s madness!  Also, I think Google reader is making me a lot more lazy as far as blog etiquette is concerned.  I very rarely comment on others blogs now because I’m too busy trying to read all the ones I follow.

But all this is really just a sign of a slightly bigger problem I’m having.  I never set out to have fashion be such a big focus in my life.  Honestly, I always wanted to have a certain amount of style, but I always imagined it being a side dish, not the main course.  I wanted to be an intelligent woman interested in many things and good at a few things who also happened to dress nicely.  The thing is, while I’m now more focused on dressing better than I used to be, I still don’t think I dress that great.  Even though I dedicate a portion of my day to blogging, it’s still not enough.  I’m not a great blogger, I’m not a great dresser, and I’m definitely not a great contributor to the community.  So why am I doing this?

shirt: borrowed from Jared; jeans: (secondhand) Old Navy; loafers/moccasins: (thrifted) Target; bow-tie as headscarf: was Grandmother's

What do I want?  I want to stop beating myself up for not blogging every day.  I want to enjoy more what little blogging I manage to do.  I want to wear things I love.  I want to have time to leave comments on my favorite blogs.  I guess this means I’ll be taking some of the blogs I read off of my reader, and continue not blog as often as I’d like.  It might also mean I’ll continue adding more of myself to this blog, even though I find posting personal details a little scary.

Albert Einstein said:  “If most of us are ashamed of shabby clothes and shoddy furniture, let us be more ashamed of shabby ideas and shoddy philosophies…. It would be a sad situation if the wrapper were better than the meat wrapped inside it.”

I want to put a little more focus on what’s wrapped inside.

4 Responses to “The meat wrapped inside”

  1. LP September 14, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Wow, your fotos illustrate your post very well! Pretty cool. I, too, feel that you should not berate yourself for not posting. And for some reason your Einstein quote made me think of that artisan-crafted salami.

    • Megan September 14, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

      You mean the mold-encased one!? LOL… I wonder if Shannon’s still saving that for a rainy day.

  2. shannon September 14, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    I agree, the pictures work very well in showing what you’re saying. And I also agree that you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. It IS just a blog, after all.
    Also, I’m still saving the salami. Not sure why.

    • Megan September 14, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

      Yes I should lighten up, because apparently I’m going to die of a heart attack (you read that email from mom, right?). At least I sort of work out, right?

      Save the salami. If you didn’t and the world ended, you’d rue the day you threw it away! (Ah poem)

Leave a Reply

