inspired by: my kids

31 Aug

So it’s pretty obvious I’m still in a slump.  I’d blame my lack of blogging here on not being able to wear my fall clothes yet – but really it’s just that lately all I’ve wanted to do with my somewhat limited free time is read Jane Austen novels and watch Leverage reruns with my husband.  And eat cookies.  I mean, just look at them…

Can you blame me?

Anyway.  My kids still inspire me, though, when they’re not painting the walls with chocolate, flushing various items down the toilet, or cutting up books I bought them in England…  (Rest in peace, Paddington.)

My son is so eager to figure out how everything works and wants to do everything himself.  His enthusiasm inspires me to continue learning about the world.  There’s so much I don’t know.  I also want to emulate his quest to be independent.  I want to learn to change the oil in my car.  I want to finish writing one of my novels.

My daughter has the same curiosity and yearning for independence, but she’s also still young enough that she never second-guesses herself.  She knows who she is and what she wants.  I wish I always had that kind of confidence.  I’m a little sad that she probably won’t be like that for her entire life, but I’m hoping she’ll keep some sense of her self-worth if I show her how to foster inner-strength as she gets older.

This post is pretty different from what I usually write.  It’s a little more like something I’d put on my family blog.  In the past I’ve thought that I should keep this blog, or at least my particular entries, from getting too personal.  In general, I’m not a fan of sharing.  However I’ve decided that a little sharing here and there isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  This topic is relevant to me and is, I think, relevant to our blog.  I hope no one minds my little tangent today.

3 Responses to “inspired by: my kids”

  1. Elaine August 31, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    I don’t mind. It was nice to see your non-fashion side 🙂

    That is what I love about kids! They are confident, innocent, independent and so willing to learn.

    • Megan August 31, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks Elaine. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The meat wrapped inside « All This Knav'ry - September 14, 2010

    […] What do I want?  I want to stop beating myself up for not blogging every day.  I want to enjoy what little blogging I manage to do.  I want to wear things I love.  I want to have time to leave comments on my favorite blogs.  I guess this means I’ll be taking some of the blogs I read off of my reader, and continue not blog as often as I’d like.  It might also mean I’ll continue adding more of myself to this blog, even though I find posting personal details a little scary. […]

Leave a Reply

