ambition

20 Aug

wrap dress: banana republic, thrifted (thanks megan!); camisole: shade; belt: forever 21; sandals: charlotte russe; sunglasses: gap; necklaces: old navy

I’m not sure which I wear less often – skirts/dresses or shoes with heels/platforms. I’m kind of thinking the former. Anyway, for some reason today I felt like I should start getting used to dressing a little nicer since I’m starting my first teaching job next week and don’t yet have a feel for the way professors dress there. I also made a commitment to myself that this semester, I’m going to wear skirts/dresses and shoes with heels/platforms (even though they make me 6’2″ and taller than 95% of the people I come into contact with) at least once a week in order to just feel nicer on a daily basis.

This dress, however, intimidates me. This is only the second time in probably a year that I’ve worn it. It’s such a blank canvas, and I will be the first to admit that I am not necessarily the best at finding ways to make a plain cotton khaki wrap dress like this more interesting – especially when it’s still hovering around 90 degrees every day. This was the best I could come up with this time. What could I have done differently? What should I have done differently? I really am open to any suggestions.

PS – my husband referred to this as my “archaeologist” dress look, which for some reason I found pretty funny.

4 Responses to “ambition”

  1. Shannon August 20, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    I like the idea of dressing “up” one day of the week (I’m assuming you mean weekday). But are you going to keep doing it when it starts snowing and it’s 12 degrees outside?? How??

  2. Megan August 20, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Honestly, I think you look awesome!! The dress and belt make your proportions all proportiony.

    I know that for some reason we have this seemingly genetic predilection to make a statement with a bright color and or color combos, but I think it’s great to go neutral once in a while. Just don’t get in a neutral rut. (Which you are *not* in danger of, btw.)

    And I slightly agree with Eric, which means it suits you perfectly, right? Maybe you can wear this on your first teaching day! =)

    • Megan August 20, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

      Also, I am so glad I found that dress for you. I’m very happy you’re wearing it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. first day! « All This Knav'ry - August 25, 2010

    […] safe bet. I decided to wear pants instead of a skirt or dress because although I’m trying to be more feminine in how I dress, I actually feel much more comfortable (and safe, I guess) in pants. I guess it’s not very […]

Leave a Reply

