new skirt

24 Apr

This post is mostly me asking my family for advice/input, but anyone else should feel free to chime in!!

So I got a new skirt in the mail today.  I ordered it from Etsy.  I love it, even if it kinda makes me think of referees.  My only issue with it is that it’s fuller than I thought it would be.  To be fair, the skirt was originally supposed to be five inches shorter than this (at the longest) so the picture obviously looked different than what I’m wearing here.  The seller was very gracious and efficient so I have no complaints there.  Anywho, my question is, should I take it in on the sides a little?  Or should I just leave it as is?  I can sew alright, I was just too lazy to make my own skirt.  Altering is no big, though.

Onward.  Here it is:

that's just my shirt pooching out, I swear!

And now what it would (sort of) look like if I took in the sides:

I can really only do so much bunching up fabric with my hands.

So yeah… help!!

p.s. it literally arrived 5 minutes ago, so maybe I need to just calm down and get used to it.  Comments in that vein are also welcome.  : )

8 Responses to “new skirt”

  1. LP April 24, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I think it looks cute as is, but the real question is ‘how does it behave when the weather is windy?’

    • Megan April 24, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

      That’s something I don’t know yet. It’s a regular cotton material… but yeah I don’t know.

  2. Shannon April 24, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Get a fan and stand in front of it. I think it looks cute both ways– I know that’s not helpful, but there it stands.

    • Megan April 24, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

      Thinking about it, it probably would blow up a little bit. And now that I’m looking at the pictures again I think it’s alright both ways, too, but I think it will fit the look I was going for a little better if I take it in.

  3. Emily April 24, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Cute. I like it both ways as well, but I think I like it a little better taken in.

    • Megan April 24, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

      Thank you for your input! I think I might take it in.

  4. alltumbledown April 25, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    I’m a fan as-is! Totally cute and retro, but you could work it with button downs, tees, blazers and cardigans. Keep it slim up top to emphasize the volume at the bottom!

    • Megan April 25, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      thanks for your comment! I kinda followed your advice today, actually… : )

Leave a Reply

