a la nickelcade

14 Mar

cami: shade; cardigan: old navy; black jeans: old navy; boots: chinese laundry via endless; belt: charlotte russe; necklace: modcloth; snap bracelet: 150 tickets redeemed at the nickelcade

A few things:

1. I just got this cardigan a couple of days ago and I’m totally in love with it. I recently discovered that Old Navy had women’s tall sizes on their website…cheap prices and clothes that fit? Yes please! I got this cardigan for $7 and a white button-down dress shirt (one that finally fits! Hallelujah!!) for $16. Awesome.

2. I’m not totally sure how I feel about the brown-black-grey combo I’ve got going on here. I think I want flat brown boots so I don’t always have to wear the grey ones.

3. I don’t paint my nails all that often, and I buy nail polish even less often (maybe a bottle a year?), so I like to splurge a little bit when I do buy it. This is OPI ($9 is kind of a splurge for me…as far as nail polish is concerned) in “You Don’t Know Jacques” – I think part of their faux Parisian line? I don’t know. I read about this shade of nail polish on the Capitol Hill Style blog (which for some reason I read even though I have nothing to do with Washington, DC) as a spring trend they recommended and decided I really wanted it since the MAC nail polish in Light Affair that I’d previously wanted didn’t work out. That one was a lighter color anyway. Ok, long story short (too late?), I love this nail polish, and I’ll probably wear it frequently.

4. Snap bracelets definitely need to come back in style.

5 Responses to “a la nickelcade”

  1. LP March 14, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I really like that cardigan, too. Overall it’s a very nice looking outfit, but I think you need some brown boots, too.

  2. Megan March 14, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I agree that brown boots would be good, but you know me… I always wear brown/black/gray/blue/whatever together… I probably shouldn’t, but I think it looks fine.

    Anyway, love your new cardigan! I want to borrow it… =P Actually, I want to buy one of my own. But borrowing is good, too.

    And I’m happy to see the cephalopod again.

  3. Megan March 14, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Oh! Do you remember when they banned snap bracelets at school?? Cause I totally do.

  4. caffeinerd March 14, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Love the cardigan–I’m a huge fan of Old Navy’s tall sizes…probably the best deal for us tall ladies, much as I like Gap’s, too.

  5. Elaine, clothedmuch March 15, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I love the cardi! I’ll definiteyl have to check it out. And I love brown and black together! Some people don’t like it but it’s one of my fave color combos!

Leave a Reply

