ponder (outfit from Monday)

9 Dec

grey turtleneck: Shade maternity, blue dress: (thrifted) Forever 21, burgundy cardigan: (thrifted) Eddie Bauer, trench: Old Navy, belt: thrifted, tights: Target, gray socks: Target, blue socks: Target, boots: (thrifted) Steve Madden

I’m starting to wonder if maybe I should pare down my wardrobe.  My only consternation is that not only are there things I don’t really wear often, but so often I must resort to wearing things that aren’t flattering… or that I like… or that even fit me well enough.  And I’m lucky if I get four dollars to go spend at the thrift store, so it’s not like I can replace things easily.

But this isn’t a pity party.  This is a call for advice and opinions.  (From the 5 people that read this blog!  =)  Well, I know that’s not true, I think on an average day there are about 6 to 8 people… on a good day around 25.  Which, seriously, is excellent!)

When I say ‘small wardrobe’, I’m talking less than 10 tops kind of small.  I’ve seen people do it well… like Elaine from Clothed Much and I think Shannon‘s wardrobe is pretty dang small, but everything I’ve seen her wear is cute (I’m sure there are others out there in the blogosphere… yes I just typed blogosphere… does anyone have any good suggestions?).  I’m just not sure I am that creative.

So, anyone reading this:  Do you think it’s worth it to have only things you love and that fit you well if the selection is slim?

p.s. I just noticed my bathroom is kinda Poltergeist-y.

4 Responses to “ponder (outfit from Monday)”

  1. caffeinerd December 9, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    I’ve been seeing the knee-high-socks/tights/boots combo lately and LOVING it on you + others. I may need to give it a shot!

    I love the whole idea for your blog 🙂 My sister is a fashion design major and recently started up her own blog, but I hope one day we can collaborate!

    • Megan December 10, 2009 at 11:30 am #

      Thanks!
      Layering in the freezing weather is awesome… you live in Illinois (right? did I read that wrong?) so you know what I’m talking about. I don’t just wear tights and knee-socks, either. I have cut-off leggings that I wear under tights when I wear skirts, too. I’m such a wuss in the cold!

      • caffeinerd December 10, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

        Yep, Illinois 🙂 I really do need to layer more. Somehow I block out how unpleasant I find this weather EVERY year until it hits once again…

  2. Elaine, clothed much December 11, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    I think you did a great job of layering here. I’m so bad at that…

    Also, if there’s something that doesn’t fit you well, you should try fixing it up instead of giving it away if you can’t afford to replace items. You don’t even need a sewing machine! I’ve fixed up some of my clothes with just a needle and thread. Granted, you’ll have to do touchups now and then but otherwise I think it does wonders! Good luck with the small wardrobe. I’m getting tired of looking at the same things all day. I’m pretty sure I’ve used up all of my ideas! :X (and thanks for the shout-out! :))

    clothedmuch.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

