Piece It Together

28 Nov

This is from last week, and I’ve been meaning to put it up, I promise, but I fell behind.  Anyway, here it is.  I still haven’t worked out a good system for taking pictures of myself, so it’s three pictures and you can piece together for yourself how it would look all at once, mkay?

jeans, Old Navy; flats, Target

jacket, thrifted; shirt, gifted F21

overshirt, gifted Forever 21; undershirt, shade; necklace, from my mom when I was like 6 years old

Three things:

1. I’m sorry I keep wearing this jacket.  It’s just the perfect warmness sometimes on these fall days.

2. I’m not sure I like the undershirt showing so much when I wear this purple shirt, which is mostly why I hardly ever wear it.  But it’s really pretty 🙂

3. Am I the only person who sort of hates the word “gifted”?

6 Responses to “Piece It Together”

  1. Megan November 28, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    it is a cute shirt. I wonder… do you think a more scoopy t-shirt underneath… perhaps with an interesting but not too competing neckline could work? something that would compliment the purple shirt somehow? and in a different color other than white… like I dunno… skin-colored, or something… I’m reaching, I know… but what do you think?

  2. Megan November 28, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    oh and keep posting! I love it!

  3. Megan November 28, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    have you thought about getting a picture for yourself? I mean a user pic. That face one is cute, I think.

  4. LP November 28, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    You are so cute! I like the jacket too. And I, too, am caused great sorrow by the word “gifted”. What the heck is wrong with “given”. Or just “a gift”? “She gifted her friend with a new book.” Ugh. Why not “She gave her friend a new book”? Instead of “This book was gifted”, why not “This book was a gift”? Oh well, there’s no turning the tide of language change. It’s like trying to stop the mighty Missouri River with your puny stretched out arm.

  5. Shannon November 28, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

    megan- I’ve tried black under it but maybe the neckline was wrong cause I thought it looked ugly. I don’t want to go to low cause then I might as well not wear anything under it anyway. But I don’t know. I’m going to keep trying!

    mom-thanks! also, I have stopped the Missouri River with my puny arm before. It wasn’t even that hard. You were there. From now on I’m going to try not to say gifted.

  6. Megan November 29, 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    I only say ‘gifted’ on this blog. I kind of like how they all sound the same: gifted, thrifted, lifted (jk!)…

Leave a Reply

