…And then My Battery Died

19 Nov

You might wonder why if the header for this blog is “three sisters and a little style,” that only two sisters ever poke their noses out.  Well readers, this is why.

As I was taking Adrien, homemade treat from me in hand, to the movie theatre this evening to meet Megan and Lindsay (yes, they are three of several billion people who will wait in line tonight for 7 hours to see two hours of fantasy teenage angst) she pointed out that I never post on here and that my outfit today would be good because of all the layers.  So a little while ago I got out my camera and discovered that it was indeed equipped with a 10-second timer for taking self portraits.  Where to set it up was the next problem…I have a very tiny bedroom, and I’m not about to let my roommates know I contribute to a fashion blog (they’d get a very funny laugh out of that, I’m sure) and ask for their help.  So I rigged up a system of setting the camera on it’s end at an angle with the strap hooked around the corner of a book so it wouldn’t fall over.  The strap kept slipping, so I had to tape it.  Luckily the book cover wasn’t very sticky…

It took somewhere in the neighborhood of half an hour to get 2 acceptable pictures because the light was bad/the camera focused on something strange/you couldn’t see my whole self/I kept making weird faces.  One was better than the other in displaying my (actually sort of boring and almost not worth all this effort) outfit, but my face looked weird, so I just chopped my head off afterward.  And really, right when I was finished my battery died.  Geez.

I’ll try to be more diligent about taking pictures of what I wear– and I’ll figure out a better system for taking pictures, too.  Anyway, here’s the one shot that made the cut tonight:

Jeans: Old Navy, Belt: JCrew (from DownEast Outfitters), Shirt: delias, Cardigan: Shade, Blazer: thrifted

I’ve been wearing my belt buckle way over to the side for some reason lately.  I sort of like it off center.

6 Responses to “…And then My Battery Died”

  1. Megan November 20, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    yay! I love your outfit, Shannon. I hope this is the beginning of the deluge.

    Man I just feel bad posting mine now… I like having yours at the top.

    The buckle to the side is excellent. It’s all about the details.

  2. LP November 20, 2009 at 9:13 am #

    I can’t see the foto. There isn’t one.

  3. LP November 20, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    Oh, NOW it shows up!

  4. LP November 20, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    Oh, I forgot to say, I really like your outfit.

  5. Sara November 21, 2009 at 3:25 am #

    hey Shannon, this is Sara. I hope you remember me. I just wanted to say your outfit is really cute. I also like your web site. I saw your other outfit from the website and it was really cute.

  6. katie November 21, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    i wear my belt buckle to the side so that the end of my belt is just barely past a belt loop in my pants. the end of the belt sticks out too much and is too flappy if i wear it in the center. but yeah, cute outfit!

Leave a Reply

