Sew You Want New Pants

1 Nov

The other day Sam tore a belt loop.  The next day he tore/wore a hole in the crotch of the same pants.  “Welp, time to get new jeans I guess.”  “But you already have two other pairs and we no can haz moolah,” said I.  So while he was school I stole away to Megan’s to grab her sewing machine and set about to fix those pantaloons if it was the last thing I did.

I’m assuming pretty much everyone knows how to patch a hole in jeans.  So I’m not going to talk about that.  What I wanted to talk about was how to fix the belt loop.  There are precisely 1.1 million posts/tips/whatever on how to fix a loop that has pulled away from the pants at the bottom.  Like this.  But the way Sam’s loop tore was at the top, like his belt just wore through it.  And there was nary a tutorial on that.  So I had to use a little ingenuity.

Anticipating that maybe that might happen to other people, I took photos of the process so that somewhere out there on the interwebz (and right here on this blog) there might be a tutorial on that.

Image

Torn, baby, torn

So.  It’s really quite easy.

Step One

Get a needle and thread.  Cut a small piece of pants hem from any extra jean fabric that you may have on hand for patches and such.  I used a bottom hem, but I imagine if you trimmed it properly, you could use an inseam instead, although it may not be as strong.

Image

Multipurpose pant hem

Step Two

Sew the hem piece tightly and securely to the top of ripped piece.  Then line up the bottom piece and sew it tightly to the bottom piece as well.  I know it’s thick and you’re doing it by hand, but use small, tight stitches and be sure to cover the entire surface and not just one line!  My stitches were scattery and uneven, so staying in a line doesn’t matter really.

Image

Top part stitching

Image

Attaching to the bottom

Step Three

Do long stitches to bridge the gap where the tear is.  Do a few of them.  It won’t be super secure because they’re long, but they’ll help secure the rip and keep things from popping/wearing through sooner.  Also take this opportunity to do a few binding stitches on the side of the repair for extra strengthening.

Image

Stee-otches

And that’s it!  Good as new!  It took me only a few minutes total to finish.  And maybe it won’t last forever, but it’ll last until we can buy Sam a new pair of pants.  Woohoo!

Oh, side note.  Some of you lamented over the fact that I didn’t have a “before” picture for the skirt in this outfit.  I still don’t.  BUT.  I realized I kept the gross nasty bottom for some reason (although I threw it away after taking this picture), so I have a picture of that to give you an idea.  Keep in mind, this skirt was floor length, and everything I cut off had tannish-brown stains from something.  Like maybe they walked through a pool of liquid concealer.

Image

Gross. And weird.

5 Responses to “Sew You Want New Pants”

  1. janeite42 November 1, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    You deserve a reward.

    • Shannon November 1, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      oh? like chocolate?

    • Megan November 1, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      Aladdin: What are you doing?!
      Jafar: Giving you your reward!!

      I always think of that part whenever someone says that word.

  2. David Burn November 3, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    good stuff. Last time I tried to do this I broke the needle which almost ended in an accident with my thumb. Therefore my advise: be sure to use only adequate needles which are robust enough and take care of your thumb :-)

    • Shannon November 5, 2012 at 11:29 am #

      Good point! I made sure to use the biggest needle I had and always pushed it through the thickest parts with a protection of the waistband between the needle and my thumb. thimbles are for babies…?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

